Simmel Studies

Editor(s): Vincenzo Mele (Editor in Chief), Gregor Fitzi (Editors), Claudia Portioli (Editors), Enrico Campo (Editorial Assistant), Paulina Sabugal (Editorial Assistant), Antonio Tramontana (Managing Editor)


Simmel Studies (1999–; firstly intitled Simmel Newsletter 1991-1999) was founded by Prof. Otthein Rammstedt at the University of Bielefeld (Germany). Rammstedt’s intention was to promote and disseminate Simmel's thought in relationship with the edition of Georg Simmel's Gesamtausgabe by the German publisher Suhrkamp (edition completed under his direction at the end of 2015). The journal Simmel Studies was able to become an important organ of the international Simmel renaissance, collecting the contributions of many international Simmel scholars.

Simmel Studies suspended the publication in 2009 when Rammstedt became emeritus professor. Simmel Studies "new series" – in the new digital form and with a new redaction and editorial board – intends to re-launch a global forum for the scientific research inspired by Simmel. It will published twice a year (June and December) – progressively only in English language – peer-reviewed by an the international editorial board from Germany, France, England, Italy, North and South America, Canada, Russia, Japan, China, Taiwan. 


Articles published in Simmel Studies are original articles, not yet published or considered for publication elsewhere. Contributors may submit articles in English, German and French, and each article should be accompanied by a brief abstract (150 words) in English and the complete address of the author, including e-mail.

Authors should send their manuscript as email attachment to [email protected] in format .rtf (readable with Word for Windows/Mac). Texts should be written with eleven sized Times New Roman and conform to the Simmel Studies’ style. For all details, please ask our Notes for contributors.

All correspondence should be sent to: Vincenzo Mele, Università di Pisa, Dipartimento di Scienze Politiche, via Serafini 3/A, 56126 Pisa (Italia).


A subscription is required to have access to issues disseminated in the last 12 months of publication for this journal.

Institutional digital subscription: Institutions (library, documentation centre, school, etc.) have the possibility to subscribe to Érudit journals by title or by title package. For more information, we invite institutions to fill out our subscription form.

Individual digital subscription: individuals wanting to subscribe to the digital version of the journal are invited to communicate directly with the journal: [email protected]

Print version subscription: Simmel Studies is published by the Georg Simmel-Gesellschaft e.V., Präsident Prof. Dr. Otthein Rammstedt, Otto-Beck-Str. 8, 68165 Mannheim (Deutschland); Deutsche Bank, IBAN: DE82 4807 0024 0196 3404 00. Subscriptions-2016 Prices (two numbers, shipping costs not included):

Individuals                                   Institutions

Print €30                                     Print €50

Online €30                                   Online €100

Print + online €45                        Print + online €120

For the print format please contact [email protected]

Back issues (14 issues)

Permanent archiving of articles on Érudit is provided by Portico.

Editorial policy and ethics

  • Peer review process will follow the anonymous double peer review process. The editors will choose the reviewers on the base of their expertise and invite them by email for the review.
  • Reviewers can accept or decline. If they decline, they will be asked to suggest alternative reviewers. If they accept, they will have a deadline to submit the review to the journal.
  • The review is then submitted to the journal, with a recommendation to accept, reject it or with a request for revision before the article can be reconsidered. The reviewer can also include  comments that will be kept anonymous to the author.
  • The editors consider all the returned reviews before making  an overall decision. If there is a wide difference between the reviews, the editor may invite an additional reviewer before making a decision.
  • When the decision is made, editors send an email to the author communication any relevant reviewer comments. 

Editorial board: Einer M. Acevedo (University of Antioquia, Colombia); Ferruccio Andolfi (University of Parma, Italy); Laura Boella (University of Milano, Italy); Vittorio Cotesta (University of Roma 3, Italy); Antonio De Simone (University of Urbino, Italy); Nigel Dodd (London School of Economics, UK); Maria Caterina Federici (University of Perugia, Italy); Alexander Filippov (Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia); Uta Gerhardt (Heidelberg University, Germany); Elisabeth Goodstein (Emory University, USA); Austin Harrington (University of Leeds, UK); Gerald Hartung (University of Wuppertal, German); Thomas Kemple (University of British Columbia, Canada); Uwe Krähnke (Medical School Berlin); Volkhard Krech (Ruhr-University of Bochum, Germany); Ralph Leck (Indiana State University, USA); Klaus Lichtblau (Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany); Monica Martinelli (Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milano, Italy); Harald A. Mieg (Georg Simmel Center for Metropolitan Studies-Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany); Natalia Canto Milà (Open University of Catalonia, Spain); Hans-Peter Müller (Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany); Guy Oakes (Monmouth University, USA); Christian Papilloud (Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittemberg, Germany); Olli Pyyhtinen (University of Tampere, Finland); Cécile Rol (Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittemberg, Germany); Davide Ruggieri (University of Bologna, Italy); Enzo Rutigliano († University of Trento, Italy); Olga Sabido Ramos (Metropolitan Autonomous University, unit of Azcapotalco, Mexico); Daniel Silver (University of Toronto, Canada); Barbara Thériault (University of Montréal, Canada); Denis Thouard (Centre March Bloch Berlin, Germany); Monica Tokarzewska (University of Thorun, Poland); Esteban Vernik (University of Buenos Aires, Argentina); Leopoldo Waizbort (University of São Paulo, Brasil); Patrick Watier (University of Strasbourg, France); Shu-Er Wei (Nahhua University, Taiwan).

Editorial board

Impressum: Otthein Rammstedt (Editor Emeritus); Vincenzo Mele (Editor in Chief);
Gregor Fitzi, Claudia Portioli (Editors); Enrico Campo; Paulina Sabugal (Editorial Assistant), Antonio Tramontana (Managing Editor).